MFA grads win McKinney prizes

MFA grads win McKinney prizes

Date posted: 2010-05-06 13:11:47

image credit: video still from 4-Minute Memoir

The McKinney Contest is an annual competition administered by the Department of Language, Literature, and Communication.

EART graduate student winners in the 2010 Electronic Media category are:

Helen Markovitch
First Prize
Title: "4-Minute Memoir"

Victoria L. Kereszi
Second Prize
Title: "Pop's Scrapbook"

Anna Lindemann
Third Prize
Title: "What Will You Do With Dna"


And in 2009, the following EART students won prizes:

Jeff Stark, first prize for "IRT: A Tragedy in Three Stations" in the Graduate Fiction or Drama category

Jessica Krannitz, first prize for "The Journey of a Dandelion Seed" in the Undergraduate Electronic Media category

Dara Greenwald, first prize for "Spectres of Liberty" in the Graduate Electronic Media category

A. Blair Neal, third prize for "10,000 Items or Less" in the Graduate Electronic Media category


Origins of the McKinney contest

McKinneyDr. Samuel P. McKinney graduated from Rensselaer in 1884 and went on to enjoy a long career as a physician. After his retirement, Dr. McKinney became deeply interested in the liberal arts activities at his alma mater, for he felt that more should be done to recognize and reward the communication skills of Rensselaer students. In 1941 he established the Mary A. Earl McKinney endowment as a memorial to his late wife. Each year since then the McKinney Competition has awarded prizes to students who have demonstrated talent in various genres of writing. From its inception the McKinney Competition has been administered and judged by the faculty of the Department of Language, Literature, and Communication.

March 28, 1977
March 28, 2018 7:00 PM
Experimental Media and Performing Arts Center, Studio 1

A video installation of an essay film meditating on the 1977 Oscars and a documentary on Rhodesia which aired at the same time one month and one day before the essay filmmaker, Maureen Jolie Anderson, was born.